YSU Home   |   About YSU   |   Admissions   |   Faculty and Staff   |   News   |   Calendars   |   A-Z Index

Department of Physics & Astronomy

YAPA Dates
  • Monday, February 22, 2016 - 6:30-8:30 pm
  • Tuesday, March 22, 2016 - 6:30-8:30 pm
  • Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 6:30-8:30 pm
  • Monday, May 2, 2016 - 6:30-8:30 pm
  • All meetings for spring 2016 will be held in Ward Beecher Science Hall, Room 2026
  • Parking is available in the M1 (Wick) deck
Physics Lab Schedules - Spring 2016

Physics 1501 & 2610

Physics 1502 & 2611

Visit our "People" page for Faculty contact information.

Contact Information

James Andrews, Acting Chair, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Youngstown State University
One University Plaza
Youngstown, OH  44555

© 2001-15 Department of Physics & Astronomy, Youngstown State University

Physics & Astronomy Webmaster: Jill Mogg

What is physics? Physics is the foundation of science. It is the scientific study of matter and energy and how they interact with each other. But because everything around us is made up of matter and energy, then physics really explains how things work, from the smallest particles to the structure of the universe. If you want to truly understand  the world around you, then welcome to our universe. You'll enjoy it here.

Content Panel

Welcome to Spring semester 2016!

2016-17 Scholarship information may be found on the STEM Scholarship page!

2016 Physics Olympics
Physics Olympics logo

Attention Area High School Physics Teachers!

The 2016 YSU Physics Olympics will be held
February 27, 2016 in the Stambaugh Stadium Gymnasiums.

Visit the "2016 Physics Olympics" link in the menu options
and learn more about our 35 year long tradition!

Team Entry Form:  Team Entry Forms (due 2/23/2016)

Event Registration Form (due at registration table 2/27/2016)

The Egg BOUNCE has replaced the Egg Drop event for 2016.

Visit the RULES page to learn more about this new event (updated 1/25/16)
(Note: Parking will be available in the M24 lot next to McDonald's for a $5.00 fee.)

Fall 2015 Graduate

Congratulations to our 2015 fall graduates!

Gwendolyn Dmitruk, Physics & Mathmathics, Minor: Psychology

Victoria Centofanti, Physics, Minor: Psychology

Drew Loutzenheiser, Physics & Astronomy, Minor: History

Gwendolyn Dmitruk senior thesis:
Removable Multilayer Polymer Appliques as Wavelength Selective Filters for Mirrors When Night Driving"

Victoria Centofanti senior thesis:

Drew Loutzenheiser capstone

Ward Beecher Planetarium

Ward Beecher Planetarium brochure cover

2015-16 Public Show Schedule

Public shows each Friday and Saturday at 8:00 p.m.

Children's shows each Saturday at 2:00 p.m.

No reservations are required - cost is free, donations are appreciated.

Information line: 330-941-1370


Social Media

Twitter Logo  Follow us on Twitter: @YSUPhysics_Astr

Facebook Logo  Keep up with the Ward Beecher Planetarium on Facebook

AllofE Solutions