CLASS College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
Youngstown State University
Department of Politics & International Relations/Rigelhaupt Pre-Law Center  


Photo of UN Meeting

Contact Information

Dr. Paul A. Sracic, Chair

419 DeBartolo Hall

Office Phone:  330-941-3436
Office Fax:  330-941-3439

The Science of Trump

Paul Sracic, Chair of the Department of Politics and International Relations, had one of his Washington Post articles included in a new book called "The Science of Donald Trump."

The Science of Trump

U.S. Embassy in Tokyo

In September 2015, Dr. Sracic spoke to the U.S. Embassy in Tokyo.

U.S. Embassy Lecture

Dr. Paul Sracic and Dr. William Binning Co-author a Book on Ohio Politics

Book cover:  Ohio Government and Politics

Dr. Paul Sracic and Dr. William Binning have published Ohio Government and Politics. 

The book reviews the history, processes, and institutions of Ohio’s government and politics and is published by CQ Press. 

For further information, please go to:

Political Science Student Recognized at Harvard Conference

Abigail Kovacs


In March of 2015, Abigail Kovacs received a verbal recognition award at the Harvard National Model United Nations conference which was held in Boston, Massachusetts.

Abigail represented the Republic of Kenya and is one of only two students YSU students to ever win an award at this conference. Abigail is a sophomore Political Science major on the foreign affairs track.

Welcome to the webpage of the Department of Politics and International Relations/Rigelhaupt Pre-Law Center at Youngstown State University.  The department is housed on the 4th floor of DeBartolo Hall on the west side of campus and has a student/faculty ratio of approximately 1:25. Most of our classes are taught by full-time faculty members. The full-time professors who make up the Political Science Department are considered experts in their fields, and are often quoted in regional and national publications. Please explore their individual webpages to learn more about their backgrounds, writings, and research interests.

The department also includes many programs and student organizations. The Urban Intern Program, Peace & Conflict Studies and the Global Education Program are just three examples of curricular programs. In addition, a Pre-Law Society meets throughout the year and helps organize a Law Day Program, a moot court team competes annually in the American Collegiate Moot Court Competition and the UNA-USA-YSU works with Global Education to organize the Model United Nations Team which has won many individual and team awards.

Political Science Student Awarded Gilman Scholarship
Antonette Scharsu

Antonette M. Scharsu, a senior majoring in Politics and International Relations and the Russian language, has been awarded the Gilman International Scholarship to study abroad.  She is currently studying in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Since 2012, eighteen YSU students have been selected as Gilman scholars.  They have studied in Russia, Thailand, Spain, India, China, the United Kingdom, Turkey, South Korea, Cyprus, Germany, the Dominican Republic and Japan.

Please read the entire News Brief here.

Pi Sigma Alpha

 Alpha Alpha Rho Members 

The YSU Department of Politics and International Relations' Alpha Alpha Rho Chapter has been chosen to receive one of Pi Sigma Alpha's Best Chapter Awards for 2015-2016.  These awards are intended to recognize local chapters that are particularly active in their departments and universities and exhibit high levels of energy and creativity in furthering the goals of the honor society. The YSU chapter was selected to receive one of four Best Chapter awards for chapters in schools with enrollments of between 5,000 and 15,000 students.


For their academic excellence, nineteen of our students have been inducted into Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society.  

Pictured from left to right: 

Jordan Wolfe, Joe Bethuy, Joseph Ohlin, Shawn Beamer, Evangelos Sisalouis, Joseph Yuhasz, Bryce Miner, Mark Ragozine, Samuel Fabrizio, Emily Diorio, Jenette Morell, Katherine Morrison, Jillian Smith, Abigail Kovacs, Antonette Scharsu, and Greta Frost.

Not pictured but also inducted are: Jeffrey Bash, David Helmick, and Laurencia Canzonetta.


International Students

The Department of Politics and International Relations recently hosted 23 students from China and Taiwan who visited to study the U.S. Presidential Election.  The program received international attention, including this article in the China Press.

2016 Summer Camp Participants

Pi Sigma Alpha Conference

Pi Sigma Alpha Conference



In February 2016, students Jillian Smith and Greta Frost presented papers at the annual Pi Sigma Alpha (National Political Science Honor Society) undergraduate conference in Washington, DC. Smith's paper is titled, "How the Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership is Changing our Ideas about Economic Development."  Frost's paper is titled, "An Assessment of the United States’ Agency for International Development’s Assistance to Morocco and its Effect on the Moroccan Education System."

Moot Court 2015-16

In November of 2015, YSU’s Moot Court Team competed in the Midwest Regional Moot Court Tournament held in Wooster, Ohio. This is an annual tournament organized by the American Collegiate Moot Court Association. Ten regional tournaments are held throughout the United States and this year 360 teams competed.  Of those teams, only 80 teams were selected to go on to nationals and two of those teams were from YSU. YSU students Jacob Shriner-Briggs, Andrik Massaro, Jillian Smith and Michael Marshall qualified to compete at the National Moot Court Tournament held in Long Beach, California in January 2016. At the national tournament, Shriner-Briggs and Massaro raked among the top eight teams in the country. YSU has qualified a team to send to the National’s for the past seven years. The team is coached by Dr. Paul Sracic, Chair, Politics and International Relations.

2015-2016 Moot Court Team
Jacob Shriner-Briggs and Andrik Massaro
Scholarship Recipients Honored at Luncheon

2015 Rigelhaupt Scholarship Recipients

Recipients of the 2015-2016 Judge Sidney and Attorney Bert Rigelhaupt Pre-Law Scholarship were honored at a luncheon held on Thursday, June 4.  Funded by a trust held by the Famers Trust Company, the scholarship assists YSU students from Mahoning and Trumbull counties who plan to go to law school after graduation. 

The recipients of the 2015 Rigelhaupt Scholarship are:

Katina Darkadakis, Chelsea Ellis, Erik Glasgow, Rachael Jenkins, Patrick Kiraly, Andrik Massaro, Kelly Matanin, James Mullarkey, Joseph Ohlin, Haley Rusu, Briana Scott, Evangelos Sisalouis, Jillian Smith, Marissa Snyder, Matthew Stevens, Jordon Wolfe, and Kaitlyn Yoho.


Model UN 2014-15

In November of 2014, the YSU Model United Nations Team competed with fellow students from across the Great Lakes region and earned second place in the Lake Erie Model U.N. Tournament.  Eight team members received individual awards. The team is coached by Dr. David Porter, Professor, Politics and International Relations.

2015 Model UN Team

AllofE Solutions